Mole biopsy atypical cells? What does it mean? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 12-02-2011, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

They didn't give me more info than they rate cells from normal to severe and mine was spank in the middle. They want me to come back in 4 weeks to have more surrounding tissue removed. Why not sooner? I have an appointment in 2 weeks to have a larger mole removed and they don't want to do it at the same time. Does it mean they don't take this seriously enough or am I overreacting? I'm scared to death right now that my children will have no mother soon.

#2 of 13 Old 12-02-2011, 01:25 PM

I don't know your details, but I think I can offer some reassurance. I'm not a doctor but I've had atypical moles removed - 7 of them, actually, over my life.

I don't think it's an emergency. 4 weeks should be fine. It's not kidney cancer, it's just atypical skin cells. Not cancer. Just cells that COULD be PREcancerous (and honestly might never BE cancerous).

As I've said, I've had 7 moles removed (and 1 of them had 2 surgeries, since they didn't get it all the first time). Only one of them came off right away, the others involved appointments made for weeks in the future. So it's typical timeline-wise. It really should be fine, mama.

Homeschooling mama to 6 year old DD.

#3 of 13 Old 12-02-2011, 01:29 PM

Don't panic!  You're fine.  I've had everything from normal moles to melanoma and everything in between.