8 week old with chickenpox kisses - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 05-31-2012, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have a very sweet, affectionate and slobbery 3 year old that just came down with the chickenpox. He had fever a few days ago, which is when he became contagious, and no matter how hard I try, he just won't keep his hands and mouth off of his 8 week old sister. My husband is out of town and I'm new to the neighborhood, so I have no ability to separate them. My googling is terrifying me-- chickenpox can be fatal to newborns?! My daughter is exclusively breasted and I had them as a kid, so I guess she has some immunity. Still, I'm very nervous as I know that she has been exposed already.

Does anyone have experience with this? Thanks.
#2 of 4 Old 06-01-2012, 08:35 AM

There really is nothing you can do at this time.  It is unlikely your 8 week old will get the chickenpox (between your immunity, her young age and the breastfeeding).  At this point all you can do is hope for the best.

I was from a family of 9 and only one of my siblings had chicken pox as an infant.  My mom says he had one of the worst cases, but he was fine.  The vast majority of children who get chicken pox *are* fine.

#3 of 4 Old 06-01-2012, 10:14 AM

I'm going to disagree with the pp. Yes, it's true that there is very little you can do at this point. But I think it's quite possible that your baby will get chickenpox. I had a 3yo with CP and an exclusively bf 7mo. The baby caught it (he was fine). I had it as an infant, myself. I'd check in with your doc, though.
#4 of 4 Old 06-01-2012, 10:38 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zinemama View Post