Healing chondromalacia patella - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 10-27-2012, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I work in a warehouse, night shift, and I am on my feet for 8 hours a day.  Literally 8 hours a day.  And in 2 weeks our peak season starts and I will be on my feet for 10 hours a day 5 days a week, and then 2 weeks after that for 12 hours a day, 5 days a week until Christmas eve.  I was diagnosed with chondromalacia patella last month in my left knee, was given a print out of exercises to do and told to see a physical therapist to learn how to target muscles.  I was also told to rest.  Lol, I wish I could.

For most of my shift, I'm standing in one place sorting items or filling boxes.  The other part of my shift is walking from one place to another, so on average I walk 5 miles a night.  I have mats at my workstation and I'm about 90lbs overweight.  I've been at this job for almost 2 months, and I have lost 20lbs in those 2 months, gaining a lot of muscle and I feel fantastic other than my knee.  The chondromalacia started before I started my job.  I guess I'm looking for advice on how to stand and do my job while helping my knee heal.  I've found that the knee strap that fits below my knee cap helps me, but it starts to bug me after a few hours.  thanks for any help:)

#2 of 3 Old 10-31-2012, 11:48 PM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)

You might want to pose this to one of our MDC "Ask the Experts" forums.  There are a few doctors on there (various types depending on the type you're most comfortable with!)

http://www.mothering.com/community/f/16907/ask-the-experts

Also, not sure how to ask this without sounding judgmental because I'm totally not, but are you trying to lose the rest of the weight?  Probably not going to solve the problem, but help for sure.

Heather - Wife , Mommy  & Health & Wellness Educator, Speaker & Consultant