Possible Hep A exposure from Costco organic berries...WTD? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 05-31-2013, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I just read this article http://www.9news.com/news/article/339142/188/Hepatitis-A-outbreak-linked-to-Costco-berries saying that a bunch of people have been getting sick from organic frozen mixed berries from Costco.  I've had smoothies every day this week with these berries!  I'm a little freaked out and the article says if you've eaten them within the last 14 days, you should get the Hep A vaccine to prevent getting sick from it.  I'm not a huge doctor or vaccine fan.  Do you think it's worth it to get the vaccine?  Is there a decent chance I'll become sick from the berries?  Also, my boyfriend had some too (just a tiny bit) and he doesn't have insurance--think he should spring for the vaccine?  

Single mama to DD 10/18/03 and DS 9/15/05 

#2 of 7 Old 06-01-2013, 06:47 AM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)

I don't know much about hep A but a quick google search turns up info saying most adults don't get symptoms of it, some get mild symptoms. It suggests not drinking alcohol for a while if you think you've been exposed to it since that's hard on your liver. I'd just take care of myself and skip the vaccine. Possibly the people who have a hard time with it (get sick beyond "mild flu-like symptoms") aren't in the best health or have liver problems. 

Mom to unschooling 4everboy since 8/01
#3 of 7 Old 06-01-2013, 08:13 AM

Would the vaccine even prevent you from getting it post-exposure? I know when newborns are exposed to Hep B, they are given hep b immune globulin (HBIG) (and the vax, because they will clearly be around a positive individual).

Fledgling midwife on hiatus, Wife to B, mama to C (c/s ribboncesarean.gif 12/04) and S hbac.gif (12/07), angel3.gif m/c (3/12) and expecting another bean 6/13 stork-suprise.gif.

#4 of 7 Old 06-01-2013, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter

Quote: