Gross Question, sorry - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 06-24-2013, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter

Location: dining at the restaurant at the end of the universe
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
This question doesn't really fit into any of the health sub-forums, and I can't find any info on the internet. I am having a colonoscopy tomorrow (sorry, TMI already!), and I am sort of lightly concerned about my intestinal flora. I feel like I have been cultivating this patch for 55 years, and I am happy enough with the results. I am sure I harbor bacterial strains from 4 continents. I am not having any symptoms that prompted the doc to recommend this procedure - it is routine at my age. Don't laugh; you will get old some day too! I have never had digestive problems, even when I lived in areas with questionable water and hygiene. I happily ignored (within reason) most common precautions to travelers about "don't drink the water" and like that. My retirement plans include much more travelling, including to developing countries. Will this near-sterilization of my innards set me up (lacking the protective bacterial strains that have been flourishing for so long) for new suseptability to enteric distress that I have been so lucky to avoid for so long? Will I become one of those wimpy tourists who won't eat salads or raw fruit and veggies? Will I have to buy bottled water for the first time in my life? I am a little bit radical and vocal about my anti-anti-bacterial feelings. I feel strongly that the current craze for near-obsessive hand-washing is weakening our natural bacterial defenses. So it sort of fits that I am concerned about my intestinal flora having to start all over again. I have never had any sort of invasive medical procedure before. Maybe I am just over-thinking this whole issue? Am I just trying to talk myself out of a humiliating, slightly scary procedure?