How high do you let a fever go? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 02-20-2005, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a nurse and was always trained to give tyelnol with any temp over 101 for a child. I've now seen the light and realize that a fever is a good thing and allows the immune system to develop. I've read lots of info and have trouble finding any one answer on how high to let a fever go before giving an antipyretic. I always believed febrile seizures could start with a temp of 105, but have found info indicating that this number is really 104. Another source said that seizures are caused when the temp rises too fast and has nothing to do with the actual degree. Any thoughts? I'm dealing with a 13 mo old by the way. Thanks.
#2 of 8 Old 02-20-2005, 06:25 PM

Honestly, it depends on my child. If they are acting OK (relatively so) and are below each of their 'thresholds', I'll let them go. If they are totally listless and grey and are at or near their 'threshold', I'll medicate.

My oldest gets high temps and has gone as high as 107 (and had no seizures at all) so she's got to go over 104 or be really sick before I medicate her. My 2nd DD has only ever hit 104 so I'll medicate her when she's around 102 because that's when she's really sick. My 3rd has gone to 105.5 so his limit is about 103 and my 4th seems to have a limit of around 102.5 or so. Like I said, I also evaluate what the other symptoms are and how sick they seem. If they have a 102 fever and are so sick that they 'can't move' (you know that feeling) then I'll medicate them whereas I'll let it go if they're playing at 103.

I've found that by not having a hard and fast rule, I can better work with the fevers and let them do their work. It's tough when they're little and you don't know how they 'run' but you should be getting an idea by now - and like I said, watch how he acts when sick and that will give you a better idea.