HELP! Can bow legged be cuased by hip carries??? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 03-21-2005, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Okay! I am really upset. I have been babywearing for 17 months, I have read so much about it, I even teach classes on this. BUT I am stumped and hopping mad :evil: and worried 8-[
Today at church these three older ladies asked if they could talk to me oputside and that it was very important. I go out side and they say theya re very concerned with katie (my DD) and I need to take her to the doctors right away becuase she is bow legged. AND the reason she is bow legged is becuase I am always carrying her on my hip.
They said her legs were deformed and went on for what seemed like forever about how her legs were ruined becuase I carry her all the time. I stammered and grabbed Katie up, she was walking around and they were pointing at her and saying all these things, I know she did not know what they were saying but it really upset me.
When people say things to me about breastfeeding or spoling my baby I never falter as I know what I am doing is right, but I have NEVER heard any connection between bow leggedness and babywearing! I need to look into this becuase I am worried.. but to tell you the truth I dont know that Katie is bow legged, she wears cloth diapers so they are bulky at times and she waddles, how do you tell if babies are truely bow legged, and I thought it was not perminant before a certain age?
PLEASE HELP ME! I am angry thinking about my church "freinds" treating this like an intervention, I am used to people questioning my parenting, but I do not know the right answer here, so I am worried! Please let me know if anyone has any knowleddge about this! Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 6 Old 03-21-2005, 12:28 AM - Thread Starter

okay, I found this on askdrsears web page

BOWLEGS