Noah's ongoing eye infection...now conjunctivitis? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-23-2002, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello,
This is my first time posting on the health and healing board, but I have a question and my doula/LLL leader/friend is on a "homeschooling field trip" sometimes I don't know what to do when she's gone! lol

ANyway, My 2 month old son, Noah, had clogged tear ducts since birth. I FINALLY was able to get one eye unclogged, but the other one is still clogged and is infected. I went to the doc a couple weeks ago and he (of course) automatically prescribed antibiotics. I was nervous about his eye so I put some antib. in his eye and he had an allergic reaction to it. It wasn't a bad reaction, but enough to scare me into never doing antibiotics, etc., before I try something natural and safe!

Well I've been putting breastmilk in his eye and tht has really helped, but I noticed last night (and still this morning) now the white part of his eye (just on the left side of his right eye) is red. What else should I do? I want to avoid doctors if possible.

TIA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-23-2002, 06:11 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was going to suggest breastmilk, but I see you've already tried that.
I'm so sorry to hear tha Noah's little eyes are giving him trouble.
My son, Elijah (also 2 months) developed really red and swollen eyes right after birth. He could barely open his eyes to see. By the second day, the swelling wasn't going down, so I decided to take him into the doctor.
The doctor sent us right to the ER. I was so freaked out. They wanted to test him fro all sorts of STD's. They started an IV and wanted to do a spinal tap, which I refused. I'm mean, my baby was only 1 day old, I wasn't going to subject him to that.