Natural remedies for athlete's foot in toddler? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-24-2003, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been battling athlete's foot in my almost 2 year old for about 6 months now. It seems to clear up and go away, only to come back in a week or so. None of the rest of us have had it, so I'm not sure where she's getting it...

Can anyone suggest anything to help? I've been using the over-the-counter creams for her feet, but I'm getting fed up with those (as is she).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-24-2003, 10:03 AM

Hi Carolyn,
Anything you do and put on it will just suppress it and drive it deeper, with worse things possibly resulting.

I encourage you to see a quality classical homeopath to deal with the reasons you are getting this to begin with........it deals with the susceptibility.

You just can't suppress with drugs or herbs. The problem remains and different symptoms will appear.

For example, we see so often when eczema is suppressed with skin creams, asthma later results.

Good luck
Many good homeopaths in UK - where are you? I may be able to sgugest one.
Old 02-24-2003, 04:51 PM

I agree with the above post, that it's worth it to try and find out why your child is susceptible to fungal infections. That said, my ds got athlete's foot from my ex-dp, and we treated it with tea tree oil. Just a few drops on a Q-tip and rubbed it on before bedtime. (I made sure that he had jammies with feet so he wouldn't touch his toes).
Old 02-24-2003, 06:38 PM

Yes, and even tea tree oil is suppressive
anything 'anti' is allopathic and suppressive and suppressive just stops a symptom and drives the disturbance deeper
We aren't used to thinking that way