Mothering Forum banner

Suddenly worse asthma

4K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  mammom 
#1 ·
I developed exercise-induced asthma four years ago. I started using an inhaler before exercise last year. But the past couple of months, and especially the past couple of weeks, my asthma has been going CRAZY. I wheeze all the time. I woke up last night wheezing, which I've never done before. The problems seem to have grown immensely since I had my first asthma attack back in February (brought on by construction work and breathing in sawdust all day). The albuterol inhaler helps a lot, when I wheeze, but if it's bad it doesn't help it go away entirely.

What could be making it get so much worse all of a sudden? Could it be stress? Is there anything I can do to make it better than doesn't involve taking meds on a daily basis?

Thanks!

#2 ·
I have a stack of stuff for you regarding asthma. It appears the information about the cause of asthma is in Australia and Asia but not America yet. Asthma is caused by too little carbon dioxide. This post will be long, but to convince you to try the exercises, you'll need info.

These are some of the roles of carbon dioxide (CO2) in the body:

Quote:
1. Oxygenation: Carbon dioxide plays a large role in oxygen transport from the blood to the cells of the brain and body. A reduction in carbon dioxide levels brings with it reduced oxygenation of tissue and vital organs (Verigo-Bohr Effect). This can lead to many health problems.

1. Acid/Alkaline Balance and the Immune System: Carbon dioxide, through its conversion to carbonic acid, is a primary regulator of the acid/alkaline balance of the body. A reduction in carbon dioxide shifts the body's pH toward alkalinity, which alters the rate of activity of other biochemical processes. An alkaline system weakens the immune system, thus making the body more susceptible to viruses and allergies.