What are these bumps on my son's arm and cheeks? (photos) -- x-posted - Mothering Forums
Women's Health > What are these bumps on my son's arm and cheeks? (photos) -- x-posted
quelindo's Avatar quelindo 07:58 PM 07-03-2006
My 11-month old son developed these bumps a few months ago. It was before I added dairy back into my diet and I've been off soy for a long time, so I don't think it's either of those things causing it.

Anyone know what this is and what I can do about it? The bumps don't seem to bother him and they don't develop into anything other than what you see in the photos -- clear, pimply bumps.

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...rs/skin001.jpg

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...rs/skin007.jpg

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...rs/skin034.jpg

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...rs/skin013.jpg

infraread's Avatar infraread 09:24 PM 07-03-2006
I'm not an expert on anything so take this as opinion only please. Ds, who is allergic to darn near everything, would get those down his back and along his arms whenever I ate nuts or oats while I was bfing. Later, he'd get them when he ate anything that had trace amounts of either nuts or oats, but they were reddish instead of "invisible" like they were when he was nursing. So I don't really have any advice, just a maybe- idea.

hope someone comes along with a better answer, I just didn't want to read and ignore.
ankh's Avatar ankh 10:00 PM 07-03-2006
I'm fairly sure that's wheat, my kids get it, so do I when I eat too much of it.

Cute kid
starry_mama 10:12 PM 07-03-2006
My son and I both have that - I've heard that its a sign of wheat allergy. We're still struggling to get all trace dairy out of his diet, we haven't even begun to rid ourselves of wheat yet......Has anyone else heard this??

ETA: I just realized thats eactly what Lisa72 just said! Any advice on an easy way to slowly get rid of wheat, and what to eat instead? We love bread in this house!