can a yeast infection cause a miscarriage? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 02-04-2007, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been battling a yeast infection for several months - I have had two miscarriages during that time - I also had two miscarriages in the past while not battling yeast. But i am concerned because I have had breakthrough bleeding after my period and I am wondering if it is realted to yeast. ANyone have any insight? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
#2 of 11 Old 02-04-2007, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter

just a bump...
#3 of 11 Old 02-04-2007, 04:42 PM

I'm not sure if yeast infections will cause a miscarriage, but I've read that bacterial vaginosis can. BV can cause itching, discharge and discomfort similar to a yeast infection.
#4 of 11 Old 02-05-2007, 02:23 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hopesmommy View Post
I'm not sure if yeast infections will cause a miscarriage, but I've read that bacterial vaginosis can. BV can cause itching, discharge and discomfort similar to a yeast infection.

Do you know how to tell the diffrence? I am worried about the bleeding - I am figuring it is fromt he yeast - when io had it really bad externally it caused open sores on my vulva - the doc had diagnosed it as yeast that time. I have tried pretty much everything mainstream - and am working on implementing some homeopathic cures and cutting sugars completely out. but i am wondering if the yeast is so bad internally that it has caused open sores on my cervix or uterus like the external yeast did. i am tired of seeing doctors. also, do you happent oknow what the best treatment for bv is?

thanks again.
#5 of 11 Old 02-05-2007, 09:38 AM

You usually treat BV with a gel called Metrogel...you use it the same way you do a yeast med. It takes about a week but you will feel much better.

Jill :, partner to DH:, mother to DD 11/06 :, DD 2/2010 .