Herbal/vitamin help for PMDD?? (severe PMS) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-27-2008, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've noticed pretty severe mood fluctuation between ovulation and onset of period since DS was born (26 months, still nursing). I'd rather not dabble with Prozac or other things until its a last resort. Anyone have any herbal or vitamin regimens that has helped with severe PMS or PMDD? I'm pretty new to this kind of stuff- used some herbal things while pregnant, otherwise I'm a newbie.

I take zyrtec every other day or so for allergies. Otherwise, I take no other meds and am healthy. Again, DS is nursing, but not very frequently.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-28-2008, 01:08 AM

How do you feel about supplementing with progesterone? That has been a total lifesaver for me in dealing with out of control PMS along with other unpleasant symptoms related to hormone issues. I posted about this a while back in regards to breastfeeding in that forum. I cut and paste from that post:

"From what I researched I understand the cream should be labeled as "U.S.P. Natural Progesterone" to be effective. It all comes from wild yam but those that are not labeled USP have not been synthesized into usable human progesterone and will do little for you. As for the warning label that is just a legal thing IMO and I take it with a grain of salt in most cases.

I've been using topical progesterone cream for over 5 years because of estrogen dominance and perimenopausal symptoms. I continued through the first trimester of my pregnancy and started back with it as soon as my period returned 6 weeks postpartum. I use it every month from day 14-26 of my cycle, doing so keeps my previously strange cycle regular and my once horrible PMS to a minimum.

Canyon River Naturals makes the stuff I use: http://www.premugest.com/info.htm