art*music*dance*waldorf C-R-E-A-T-I-V-E P-L-A-Y nanny - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 of 2 Old 07-30-2009, 12:55 AM - Thread Starter
 
habitat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: In Love.
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm searching for a nanny job in Chicago! Please take a look at my ad (also posted on Chicago Craigslist).

I'm also available to teach private art classes on weekends (or possibly during the week), or as a mentor to kids who are especially interested in art.

Thanks, Mamas!

>>>>

DEAR PARENTS,

I am 21 years old with credits from The Rhode Island School of Design and The School of The Art Institute of Chicago with focuses in Art Education and Environmental Domestic Living & Architecture. I'm an active contemporary artist and children's book author. Ultimately, I hope to receive my certificate in Waldorf Teaching. I have well over a decade of professional experience in the fine and performing arts. I’m CPR and First Aid Certified, with over six years of professional childcare experience that leaves me comfortable with children of all ages including infants, twins and multiples. I have a safe vehicle and a good driving record, though I prefer to take advantage of public transportation whenever possible. I've also worked as a freelancing whole foods meal planner and a "green" domestic house cleaner/organizer.

CHILDCARE EXPERIENCE

Being the oldest sister and first of many in a big, close-knit extended family, I’ve always been surrounded by children. At sixteen, I got a job as a teacher’s aid at the same private Massachusetts childcare center that I once attended when I was young. I gained three years of indispensable experience there; working with children of all ages including multiples and about a year almost exclusively with infants up to twelve months old. My younger sister now works with the same children at three or four years old that I used to cradle as infants!

When I moved to Chicago for school, I was very lucky to find a position with a great family almost immediately. I took their little girl for walks to the park, bike rides, urban nature hikes and trips to museums. We built tents and forts and boats and cardboard houses. We did heaps and heaps of art and we made lots of music together. It’s been a gift and a joy to watch her grow and be able to be a part of it. It was a sad goodbye when she and her family moved to Ireland full-time, but we keep in touch and get together when they come back to the city for a visit.

Here on Cape Cod, I've enjoyed my time this summer with Ricky (4) and Avery (1). We all love building fairy houses and making puppets for puppet shows. I'm often carrying Avery to the village library in her sling, playing on the beach, or discussing the wonders of such fantastical creatures as dragons and gnomes.

EXPERIENCE IN THE ARTS

My mother first enrolled me in dance classes when I was three. At seven, I started dancing competitively and at ten I began a career in musical theatre and classical vocals. I've performed in Broadway in Boston, and traveled overseas to sing in Austria and Italy. I've also done an East Coast tour to perform at a number of popular spots, including the Smithsonian Museum in DC and Disney World in Orlando. I've been in more theatre productions than I can count!

After years on stage by my senior year of high school, I was gravitating away from the performing arts and toward the fine arts. I attended a summer residency program at the Rhode Island School of Design where I studied Graphic Design. I ended up moving to Chicago a couple of semesters in the Performance Art department at The School of the Art Institute. Last summer, I took a performative sculpture piece to a festival in Skien, Norway. I’ve also been studying Art Education and Environmental Domestic Living & Architecture.


THOUGHTS ON CHILDCARE

I absolutely adore my work with children. Parenting, in my opinion, is the most important job in the world. Childcare is a close second. I have fond memories of the many people who helped to raise me outside of my immediate family. Through my work, I hope to instill a similar feeling of trust, security and inspiration in those children that I care for.

For children, opportunities for discovery are everywhere. Actively engaging them with their surroundings allows them a better understanding of their own growing perspective. I am invested in being a trusted friend and helping children to positively engage their own minds, bodies and feelings. I am receptive to a child’s needs and will respond to them without overpowering his or her unique creative thinking process or taking the reigns. I feel that play is a child’s job, and my job is to help them develop that play with confidence, offering gentle insight and guidance where needed.

I have a holistically minded philosophy when it comes to care. Children are whole people, and I treat them as such. They are smart and receptive, often hearing and learning more than we realize. Environment, therefore, is critical. Stress on a child can yield a subtle, but destructive impact, creating a sense of unrest and often insinuating so-called “behavioral issues”. Placing children in a playful, positive, encouraging, creative, mindful environment is a number-one priority of mine.

I have studied the Waldorf and Montessori methods with great interest, and my approach is largely inspired by Steiner’s beautiful Waldorf curriculum. I avoid sitting children in front of the television. Instead, I promote creative play, encouraging children to be self-imaginative, and therefore avoiding the common latter-day problem of needing constant electronic stimulation and pre-made games to keep oneself busy. Adventures in play are my forte. I enjoy going outside for walks, discovering surrounding plant and animal life and making up expressive stories and songs. It behooves me to let children lead the play, without being prompted by the questionable agenda of a mass-produced, battery-operated toy. I seek age-appropriate ways to safely engage children in everyday adult activities like baking, cooking, gardening, recycling and cleaning up. Even making his or her own toys and clothing! Besides the “educational experience” and preparing them for a future of resourcefulness and creativity, I find that activities like this provide children with an immense feeling of accomplishment and help to build self-esteem.


WHAT I’M LOOKING FOR

I’m searching for a mutually respectful live-in or live-out situation involving 20-40 hours a week with a great family who has similar thoughts to mine when it comes to childcare. I would be pleased to work with single parents, homeschoolers or unschoolers as well. I'd love the flexibility to be able to take children on day-trips to museums, kids concerts and other fun stuff.

I am available to start anywhere in September or October, depending upon your need.

Many Well Wishes,
-Stephanie

Forest For The Trees  stillheart.gif  Radical Family Support Consulting for Growing Families (ask me!)
10+ Years in Professional Holistic Childcare and Support / Alternative Education / Unschooling my Friend, Z (4)

Future Community-Dwelling, Stay-at-Home, Sole-Parent by Choice!

habitat is offline  
#2 of 2 Old 08-30-2010, 12:08 AM
 
loridavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
****************************** ***
*Aloha

Great opportunity in Hawaii (island of Oahu) for an adventurous individual to join our family for outdoor activities, exploration, some travel and a lot of daily life.* We are searching for a full-time person to help* provide a safe, stimulating and nurturing environment for our two sons: 2 and 4 years old.* We are a two parent household: stay-home sometimes busy mom and a dad that travels for work: (gone 2-3 weeks at times..)* Dad is a working artist and the home environment is an artistic and musical one.** We are a 'hands on' with lots of compasion household.
We would like to find someone who is experienced, committed to doing fun and creative activities with our sons, a great communicator, knowledgeable about child development, and who will spend lots of time interacting with them- no TV, video games, etc...** Our older boy is currently enrolled in a Waldorf Steiner preschool nearby 3 - 5 days a week...
*
This is a live out position but if you are relocating for position there are options. We are offering a good salary. Availability and flexibility is a must.* The right candidate will be mature, playful, trustworthy, able to sustain energy throughout day, calm and aware, health-conscious, professional, creative, dedicated to childcare, and intelligent with a good sense of humor.* Ability to prepare healthy meals for the children is necessary. Must be willing to work in an environment where mom and dad are frequently home and taking breaks to join in the fun!
*
Having you along on our travels will insure the children stay happy with consistent play and naptimes. We travel to San Francisco every 3 or 4 months for 5 weeks at a time and have accommodations for nanny.
*
Safe driver with license, CPR certification and ability to swim required.
*
*
******* *******Please contact Lori Davis at** loridavisinsf@gmail.com
* **Send resume and references for reply !!
*
********************************************** Mahalo** …..
*
loridavis is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Drag and Drop File Upload
Drag files here to attach!
Upload Progress: 0
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Mothering Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off