Considering Leaving my full time job - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-27-2010, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am currently taking steps in preparation of leaving my job. I am a full time mid-level manager at a university however the job is so stressful and time-consuming that it is causing excessive stress and anxiety in my life. I have a side craft business that is in its second year - and is doing pretty well. I also got a job at starbucks to help supplement my income. My partner and I can live on a reduced income if we adjust our lifestyle. I am not usually the risk taker but I am not happy with my current quality of life, so I must make a change. Today's job market has not lent itself to finding a new job in my field. I have always wanted to focus more on my business so I feel like i'm not quitting to work at starbucks (which is not a bad company to work for anyway).

I am looking for some advice, things to consider maybe I haven't, words of encouragement, caution, etc. Does anyone have a similar story?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-28-2010, 11:54 AM

I just wanted to say good luck! That sounds wonderful. Stress is really damaging to our bodies, I have diabetes because of it from the stress I had this last year. I hope your business really takes off, when I get pregnant again next year and after the baby comes I'm planning to stay home and do my farm thing and figure out how I can make money selling raw milk, eggs, and veggie starts. I don't have enough room to grow a lot of produce for farmers' market, but I think starting small I will do ok.

What kind of craft business is it?

, you can do it!

Cathy toddler.gifMama to James(6)coolshine.gifand Maggie Mae (1)luxlove.gif Wife to Daveguitar.gif

And 3rdtri.gif with #3 bigeyes.gif Due in August 2013!!!

Old 09-30-2010, 03:29 AM