What do we think about yoga right now? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 07-09-2008, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'll be five weeks tomorrow, but still that's awfully early to worry about yoga stuff I think? I'm a beginner, but I have really good body awareness due to dance experience. Do I need to worry about modifying poses yet? I'm reluctant to say anything to my teacher only because 1) I don't want to look stupid, and 2) my mil is in the same class with me and we haven't told her yet, so I don't want her to get too suspicious. Are shoulder stands and kicking up to a hand stand (not holding it- wall is right there, just kicking up) okay? It's not a heated yoga either. It's Iyengar.
#2 of 11 Old 07-09-2008, 06:12 PM

There's no need to modify much at this point, especially if you've been doing this for a while. When you get bigger you'll want avoid lying on your back or stomach for a long time but at this point I'd just keep up your usual routine. I haven't told anyone in my pilates class I'm expecting yet.
#3 of 11 Old 07-09-2008, 06:20 PM

I thought you don't have to worry about it until you start showing, but I told my instructor anyway and she gave me two articles from yoga magazines. One said no yoga in the first trimester. The other said no twisting, holding breath, jumping, or inversions in the first tri and no yoga at all in weeks 11-13. Neither gave a reason why. It could be one of those yoga-y zen things. My instructor said she felt it was a little over the top, but that it's my decision. The articles might be online. I'll look when I get home.

I don't remember all the later preg stuff, but it was more of what you'd expect: no laying on the stomach starting in the 4th month, don't lay flat on your back because it can cut off blood flow, modify to go around belly, etc.

I'm going to keep going, but am trying to be more gentle.

mom to DD 3/09
#4 of 11 Old 07-09-2008, 06:49 PM