dtap and seizures - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 04-27-2011, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi, my nephew is 3.5 now and has been having seizures since he was 9 months old.  He sees a neurologist every 6 months to be checked out.  The neurologist can't find anything wrong with him, tests always come back normal.  His anti-seizure medications pretty much control them, but he still has them, anyway I recently read that a side effect of dtap can be seizures, anyone have experience with this?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 04-27-2011, 11:07 AM

I know that can be a side effect but I have no experience with it. hug2.gifPoor little guy

Young born-again mama and loving wife peace.gif to DH jammin.gif and SAHP to two crazy girls dust.gifwehomebirth.jpgfly-by-nursing2.gifslinggirl.giffamilybed1.gif and believe gd.giflactivist.gif  signcirc1.gif !

#3 of 7 Old 04-27-2011, 11:32 AM

I don't have any experience with this either (Dtap & seizures), but I do have experience with seizures. I've had them and my father had a lot of them, and they can be very difficult to nail down on medical equipment. If there is no obvious physical reason for them, and there often isn't, the only way to get a medical glimpse into what is happening is if they're captured on the EEG. For that, you need to actually have a seizure while hooked up, otherwise tests do come back "normal." Actually, medical science has a long way to go in their knowledge of seizure disorders. I do hope your nephew grows out of them :)

#4 of 7 Old 04-28-2011, 07:16 AM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Hi