Would you vaccinate if you lived in a 3rd world country? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 01-26-2012, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am new to the whole vaccine issue. I vaccinated my first 2 kids dutifully, no questions asked. With kid 3, I kept having to put off vaccines (vaccines were pricey, then we were moving, then he had a cold, etc.) and before I knew it, he was 10 mos old and still hadn't received a single vaccine. I felt guilty and the two times I took baby to the doctor I was soundly scolded for not yet vaccinating him - I was told I was unresponsible and taking chances because we live in the middle east and are exposed to more diseases than, say, people in the US. I then came across a few articles about the inefficiency of vaccines, the many possible negative side effects, etc. I'm now rethinking vaccinating him at all. I know that the only vaccines available here are in sets of 4 or 5 vaccines. So even if I wanted to selective vax, I doubt it would be possible.

My main concern is - is my kid, living in a 3rd world country (Jordan, with an influx of Iraqi and Syrian refugees thrown in) more at risk for more diseases than his 1st world counterpart - and therefore more in need to be dutifully, responsibly vaccinated??

joy.gif
"Paradise lies at the feet of mothers"
#2 of 5 Old 01-26-2012, 11:36 PM

If it were me...Yes I would vaccinate. But only those vaccines that show a lesser risk and are a danger. Not much help, but my gut yes I would.

Here I've only started with DS being 2 and DTaP. that's the only one so far that made sense to me.

biggrinbounce.gifDS 10/09  sleepytime.gifDS 2/17/11 stork-suprise.gif Blessing #3 sometime 2/13

#3 of 5 Old 01-27-2012, 05:18 AM

I live in a 3rd world country (South American), do you know what are issues/outbreaks in jordan or vax they use there?