Immunity to chicken pox question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 04-16-2012, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi, I am new to this wonderful forum.....

I am the mother of seven kids who are not vaccinated.  (actually my two oldest had a few shots each before i decided to abandon the schedule.  All of my children except for one has had the CP.  She is 15 years old.....When she was about 3 mos old , her older four siblings had the chicken pox over a two month period.  Six years ago, #6 , with whom she shared a room, got chicken pox.   She never got them.  Last year , #7 got them from school,  she never got them.  Should I assume she has had exposure w/o evidence?  what would be the most definitive test to determine whether or not she has immunity.  I have read conflicting information regarding this.  I would prefer that if she has no immunity, that she gets them sooner rather than later and I do not support cp vaccinations for healthy children as I believe that there is no problem in having cp. 

As a side note, #7 got diagnosed with leukemia at the age of four and underwent 3 yrs of treatment in an unvaccinated family, attended school, etc, with no illnesses.  He got the cp one year after treatment ended from a vaccinated classmate.  New spots appeared for four days, dried up and he was back to school the following week; no analgesics, etc.  #6 had a mild case which the doc thinks was caused by exposure to a vaccinated schoolmate.  Was it  , or was he healthy enough to not have a bad case?  #4 had it the worst as she was exposed to the previous three on an ongoing basis for weeks. Titres of the first four show exposure. They contracted cp from unvaccinated kids.  If the last two didn't and one has never visibly had symptoms , are there definitive tests to prove immunity?

Just curious if anyone has more info.  Thank you.

#2 of 8 Old 04-16-2012, 11:27 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)