TIME magazine - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 24 Old 02-22-2006, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
http://www.time.com/time/magazine/ar...161253,00.html

Last fall a handful of us wanted to get our tots flu shots without the mercury-based preservative thimerosal, which some people suspect is a risk factor for autism. Still searching for a new pediatrician, I asked a friend's doctor about the issue and was assured that kids' flu shots never contain thimerosal. A second friend was told the same thing by her doctor. It was very comforting--and very untrue.

Another friend's doctor, meanwhile, informed her that all childrens' flu shots contain thimerosal. Also not true. In reality, a less prevalent thimerosal-free version can be had for a few extra bucks.

As a physician, I was completely flabbergasted and embarrassed to learn that my understanding that thimerosal had been completely removed from child vaccinations was wrong (thank you, Long Island).

In trying to talk to my pediatrician colleagues about this, there is a complete wall of hostility and resistence. Basically, their contention is that they (the pediatricians) have decided that the thimerosal risk is not real. Therefore, they are justified in admiinistering it to children. Furthermore (more shocking to me), they feel no obligation to specifically discuss this issue with parents, educate them and elicit their understanding and cooperation. So long as the routine 'VIS' - vaccination information sheet - is signed and on the chart, they feel their job is done.

I'm not feeling very comfortable about the ethics or credibility of my profession right now.
#2 of 24 Old 02-22-2006, 04:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by blessed
I'm not feeling very comfortable about the ethics or credibility of my profession right now.
I know that was probably very difficult for you to write, especially on this forum. Thank you for taking a closer look at this issue.