Book: The Betrayal of Health - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-01-2006, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
I'm a librarian in a very small town in Vermont. Lately I've been doing a weekly radio program, focusing each program on some aspect of the library's collection and expanding outward to other resources.

In a couple of weeks I'm planning to do a program on Big Pharma. We have a couple of recent and excellent books on the topic. I was digging through the collection and I found this one:

The Betrayal of Health: The Impact of Nutrition, Environment, and Lifestyle on Illness in America by Joseph D. Beasley, M.D. It is from 1991, but still has some relevant material.

The most interesting part, to me, is in chapter 9, The Limits of Modern Medicine. He talks about the amazing achievements of modern medicine, describing a dramatic rescue involving terrible injuries and extraordinary surgery. Then he continues, on page 195:
Quote:
Ironically, the wonder drugs of the last century may never have worked as well as we thought. Medical historians report that the dramatic improvements in morbidity and mortality rates in the past hundred years were not exclusively, nor even mainly, due to doctors' interventions. The death rate from many of the most virulent infectious diseases had begun to drop well before wonder drugs came on the scene. With the exception of the small pox vaccine and the diphtheria antitoxin, most of medicine's disease-specific weapons were not even developed until the 1930s--well into infectious disease's decline.

But if doctors' interventions--mainly vaccinations and drugs--were not the chief eradicators of infectious disease, what was?