Adult Vaccination? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-16-2006, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been frequenting these boards since 2004, and they have certainly changed my views on how I want to raise my future children. I didn't create an account until this year when I decided to try posting in the Not Mamas . . . Yet tribe. Since I've started posting there, I've become a little more confident about posting elsewhere. So, here I am.

I thought about the vaccine issue a lot, and I decided that I would prefer not to vaccinate my children. But, I've just thought of something that's made me realize that I need to reconsider this issue.

I am currently planning a world backpacking trip, and I initially accepted that I would get all the recommended vaccinations. This caused a great deal of disharmony in my mind. How can I accept the thought of vaccinations for myself while planning to not get them for my kids? Am I being irresponsible with them or myself? Is it a different situation if one is expecting exposure in developing countries? Do I know what I'm talking about at all?

I haven't been researching vaccination for very long, and I'm nowhere near fully informed. (I've been working my way around the boards slowly adjusting my thoughts on family life.) I need advice on where to research from here, and I would like everyone's opinions/advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-16-2006, 09:36 PM

Vaers shows alot of deaths from adults having reactions to simple vaxes like the flu......I personally wouldnt vax myself or my dh for anything anymore, even if I were travelling.
Old 09-16-2006, 09:52 PM - Thread Starter