Vaccination Exemption Form - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 08-15-2007, 02:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I need some help here please. I'm new to MDC, but I need some advice on how to handle my local health department in Washington County, Utah. I tried to get the exemption form (my girls have been vaxed up until about one year ago) from my local health department on Friday because my older twins start school this Friday. Well...first of all they told me I had to come back on Monday or Tuesday because "we treat that like immunizations" and that's the only days they do them. I asked for the paperwork so I could fill it out ahead of time because according to them I "should plan on being here a while because we will be really busy." But they would not even give me the papers, telling me I would have to fill them out when I came back. Oh - and by the way, it's $25 PER CHILD for the exemption! WHAT!? I was completely irate and found out that no one else I know has had to pay a fee.

Fast forward to yesterday when I tried to go into the office at 12:30, unloading all five of my toddlers only to find out that of course, they were closed for lunch - you've got to love the government! Then I return at 2:30 and the nurse informs me that I will have to come back today because they are not taking any more walk-ins. I tell her I just need an exemption form and she tells me they are $25. And get this - the lady in front of me had the same request and when told about the $25 fee she says, "Well, how much are the vaccinations?" Is that REALLY the reason she's choosing not to vaccinate? "Well, honey...let me fill you with all this poison - we can't afford not to!" AAGGGHH!