What do you do if you travel to third-world countries? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 07-08-2008, 09:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
First off, let me say this is not an attempted attack. I'm just curious and am honestly seeking information.

I'm new to the concept of non-vaxing, and as a world traveler (Europe, third-world Africa, and middle-east), I wonder what would you do if you were taking your DC to a third-world country? I mean, our daughter travels everywhere w/ us, and we've been in some pretty harsh conditions, definitely ones where diseases that she's been vaxed against are NOT obsolete and hospitals are bad.

Would you just not travel to these places? Or would you vaccinate based on what the risk is?

Momma to DD (12/04) hearts.gif and DS (11/09) hbac.gif.
I survived 16 mos! Ask me about breastfeeding a baby with posterior tongue tie, high palate, and weak oral motor skills- whew!

#2 of 13 Old 07-08-2008, 11:09 PM

I would probably wait to travel with her until she is much older (10-11 years old?), and the vax for what is really necessary, maybe polio and mmr- thats what I would do.
My husbands family is from greece, and i wont even go there until my son is older becuase I have no idea what he can catch and I dont want him to be young and possibly more vulnerable.
#3 of 13 Old 07-08-2008, 11:15 PM

We've been to cental american countries(Panama, Mexico, Dominican Republic) with ds and he's 3 1/2 and vax'd up till the age of 2. I do not worry at all. We also live in Mexico about 6 months out of the year. Have free range chickens and you name it all around us. The hospitals do scare me. However i have no fear of his lack of vax's. If we were to go to a country that has certain fevers or diseases i would think about getting vax'd as a family. Africa and parts of India. Again it would depend on where we are going too.