Migraines and Pregnancy? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 08-13-2008, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is it true that most women who normally get "hormonal" migraines don't get them while pregnant? Anyone have any experience with it?

I started getting them after my fourth... so I have no experience being pregnant and having migraines. Just want to know what I might (hopefully?) be able to expect?

Autumn (1990) Blake (1993) Zoe (2001) Dmitrios (2002) and William (April 2009) born still @ 39 wks - my 4ever
#2 of 4 Old 08-14-2008, 02:01 AM

I've met people who have gone either way- migraine free during pregnancy, or have gotten much worse.

Wishing you a migraine-free pregnancy!

"Guess what? It's a magical world. And when I sing, my songs are in it."
Madly in love with my 7 and 4 year old daughters

#3 of 4 Old 08-14-2008, 11:51 AM

I had them really bad when pg with DS, but I've only had one this time. (knock on wood). I always suffered with migraines, but while in my early twenties, they got better, but came back really bad when I got pg with DS.

Mama to two lovely boys and a new baby due mid-May 2011
#4 of 4 Old 08-15-2008, 11:51 AM

Before my first pregnancy, I was on a daily migraine preventative. I had to wean off of it for the pregnancy. (I got all sorts of migraines... barometric pressure trigger, food trigger, dehydration trigger, stress, hormones...) Thankfully, I only got a handful of manageable migraines while pregnant. Then the breastfeeding hormones kept the bad ones away until relatively recently (DD1 is 21 months old). I probably was just getting to the point when I would have considered resuming my meds, except we were going to start TTC. Obviously, I'm here, so still med-free.