will you be getting the flu vaccine while you're pg? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 64 Old 09-15-2008, 10:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So the CDC & ACOG recommend that all women who will be pg during flu season receive the influenza vaccine. What are y'all planning on doing w/ that? (we are talking about true influenza here, w/ high fevers & the lot for a week or so, not the "stomach flu")

I have very mixed feelings about vaccines, I did not get the flu vax when I was pg w/ dd, declined Rhogam, & selectively vaccinated her. But I do feel that some vaccines have their place (I work in a hospital & am thankful to have the Hep B vax, my mom's a pediatric nurse & has watched the rate of pediatric meningitis plummet over her 20-year career (80's - today) due to the introduction of the HIB vaccine.

The flu vax is a crap-shot as to whether or not "they" get the right strains of the flu in the vaccine for a particular year. I know some people say they've gotten the flu from the vaccine, but I have had the flu in the past & have never had a bad reaction.

So now here I am, I will be working in a hospital through the winter, I have a germy toddler, & my last baby was a 22-week loss. Maternal infection & fever is a significant risk to the fetus & I'm thinking the risk of influenza outweighs the risk of the vaccine to me & my fetus.

What do y'all think? Please be kind & respectful
#2 of 64 Old 09-15-2008, 11:15 PM