New to online support...Thanks for being here - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 08-21-2012, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello, 

As my title says, I am new to online talking in this type of forum. I am a wife to a wonderful man and a mother of a very special 13 month old girl and am currently pregnant with my second child, who is due in January. We don't yet know what this new little one will be but we are excited and very nervous about its arrival. 

Well, I joined this group because I am looking for some womanly/motherly advice that does not stem from my own mother or mother-in-law. I was diagnosed with PPD (postpartum depression) last year, five months after my daughter was born. My MD told me I was completely normal and he put me on a low dose of anti-depressants to help even things out, which they did. This has been a rocky year for my husband and I as we moved to a rural area, and lived with my parents. We just recently found a place of our own and are starting to feel at home. I found out I was pregnant on Memorial Day, which was a shock because I had been on birth control. I will say that I have missed days in the past but that had never affected my cycle, until now. Needless to say, we were surprised to find out that we were going to have another child so quickly after our first. 

We were living with my parents, my husband had just recently found a job, I was in the process of beginning a new job, and all the while trying to raise our daughter with every ounce of love and devotion we were able to muster. She really is a blessing, and I am tearing up at the moment just thinking about her. Anyway, after we found out I was pregnant, I immediately stopped taking my antidepressants and called my OB. He would have liked me to cycled off of the meds, but as long as I was not thinking of hurting our child or myself I was going to be fine.