How many of you are (were) teachers? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 37 Old 11-19-2008, 01:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
And if you are, did you choose to HS because of what you saw during your years teaching or for reasons totally unrelated? And does anyone homeschool your own while teaching in a school system, at the same time?

It seems that, so many times while browing this forum, I encounter posts that refer to being a teacher & I started wondering why that is. Could be just the odds, I guess.

I'm married to a public school teacher & that fact is often brought up when I mention homeschooling. I just say it's similar to me being a nurse as well as a strong proponent of natural health....and homebirth.

stephanie asl.gif

#2 of 37 Old 11-19-2008, 02:10 AM

I'm a former school teacher also married to a current school teacher. Our shared experiences have definitely influenced greatly our decision to homeschool. We both respect the need for schools, but at the same time, do not feel they are a place where our children would best learn and grow. Our own personal experiences in school as students played a part in our decision too. We are not fans of institutionalized schooling, but at the same time, I am very grateful that there are people like my dh and my cousin, who are wonderful teachers, there doing their best for the students that come through their doors.

What I find ironic is the people that point to my years as a teacher (or dh being a teacher) as validating our "ability" to homeschool - the "Oh, you can do that because you used to teach" mentality. I have found that my training and experience teaching has been nothing more than a detriment to my ability to homeschool my children.

Me + dh = heartbeat.gif ds (7/01), ds (11/03), ds (6/06)
and dd born 11/21/10 - our T21 SuperBaby ribbluyel.gif heartbeat.gif
#3 of 37 Old 11-19-2008, 02:18 AM