Learning to read - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 06-15-2009, 01:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am mostly an unschooler. I really follow DS's lead and he's a very curious and exploratory child so he keeps very busy. He also tends to pick things up quickly and figure things out easily.

He is interested in learning to read, but doesn't seem to be getting the whole phonics thing. I bought the Spell to Read and Write curriculum just to give me ideas on how to explain and teach him to read. It seems overly complicated and wordy to be honest. I have a masters in linguistics and fundamentally believe that we naturally learn spoken and written language, so I just can't believe it can be that complicated. It didn't even interest me.

I am thinking of returning it and losing $30 (shipping and restocking) since I didn't use any of it. I am considering The Ordinary Parent's Guide to Teaching Reading or Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons.

Does anyone have a better suggestion? My friend likes The Ordinary..., but she is very structured and I am not. Should I give the other curriculum a chance?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 19 Old 06-15-2009, 01:25 AM

We just started doing "Teach a Child to Read with Children's Books" which combines phonics and living books. It's absolutely wonderful. And it was free at my library.
#3 of 19 Old 06-15-2009, 01:50 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by VanessaS View Post
We just started doing "Teach a Child to Read with Children's Books" which combines phonics and living books. It's absolutely wonderful. And it was free at my library.
Interesting! It might be much more our style! I just can't seem to wrap my brain around flash cards... which I know The Ordinary... uses.
#4 of 19 Old 06-15-2009, 04:39 AM