K12/Virtual Academy Fall 2009 - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 279 Old 08-24-2009, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all -
Just thought, as an absolute newbie to k12/virtual academies, that it would be nice to have a thread for those of us who are doing k12/virtual academies this year? This way, if we are struggling with technology or curriculum or guidelines or whatever, we can bounce some ideas off each other here.

Our Virtual Academy starts officially tomorrow (Tuesday the 25th); our boxes o' stuff don't arrive 'til Friday sometime. Had a nice talk with the 'teacher' this evening .... We are basically starting this week out by doing the orientation bits and that's it.

Still nervous and conflicted a bit about it ... we are choosing k12 because it's free, it's 'still public school' (transition bit to full-on homeschooling next year we hope, but appeases family a bit). We're hoping that the structure of it helps me get into a groove in terms of managing homeschooling, too. And this way I don't have to worry about curriculum this year. But I'd rather not have Big Brother watching our attendance and checking up on us all the time ....

I basically feel like a butterfly about 1 week into its chrysallis time. Pretty nervous about how this will all turn out!

(I should mention, dd1 is 5 and just starting kindergarten; dd2 is nearly 3 and will probably be trying to learn right alongside her sister!)

Not all who wander are lost.
#2 of 279 Old 08-24-2009, 11:28 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
My ds James started K this past week with the South Carolina K12 public school. My elder dd is 3. (Hey, we're kid-spacing twins!)

We have a lot of the same stuff going on - it was free, it's our first year of homeschooling (plus a new baby in the house!) and I wanted to ease into it a bit, etc. I do not plan to continue next year, as I prefer the classical approach, but for this year I think it's going to be a good choice.