Does anyone home-school AND have a job? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-03-2009, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How do you do both? Is it possible? How do YOU do it?

Mom    wash.gif  bikenew.gifgeek.gifdishes.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-03-2009, 08:30 AM

Yes.

I am a librarian, and to be honest that aides our homeschooling. My husband is a college student who currently takes night classes (by his own choosing.) Because of this, we are able to share homeschooling lessons/ time with our children. We have also considered when we are both working and have decided that we will need a sitter/ helper if our youngest is under 8. By 8, our oldest would be 10 and I would feel they have matured enough to have them in the library with me at work.

However a variety of working parents have been able to homeschool their children. There's even a Yahoo group: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WORKandHOMESCHOOL/
Old 09-03-2009, 10:09 AM

I do, but I have an unusual job... I teach on-line courses, and that allows me to work when the kids are asleep, on weekends when DH is home, and whenever I have a few minutes during the weekdays.
Old 09-03-2009, 12:30 PM

Midwifery and doula stuff. So sort of. I work about 30 hours a week but much of it is at night. It helps that I have supportive babysitters who will help with the homeschooling stuff.

Homeschooling, midwifery mom to 4 beautiful blessings(8,6,4,1)

Old 09-03-2009, 12:39 PM

Interesting, because I considered homeschooling this year ... I have a job working weekends, 12 hr shifts. I think homeschooling would be totally doable with this type of work situation, but we decided not to do it this year for other reasons.

nak.gif Mommy to fencing.gifKai 2/03, hammer.gifCaden 1/08, energy.gif Kara 10/09, angel1.gif 3/21/13, &

rainbow1284.gif baby.gif  Cole 2/3/14 ♡ Happily unmarried to geek.gif Papa since 2002 ♡