singapore math ?s (iso used primary 1B books) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 01-30-2010, 03:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i am a newbie, this is the first big purchase like this i have ever made. money is an issue for us. i think that singapore math is a good fit and that my dd will be a good fit for the 1-b level. now for my ?s: do i have to buy the text book, work book, and home instructor's guide book for it to really make sense to her. she is a super fast learner....
does anyone have a used instructor's home guide i could buy? is the text book consumable?

thanks so much!
#2 of 15 Old 01-30-2010, 12:06 PM

I think the answer depends on how confident you feel about approaching different math topics without someone giving you different ways to show her if you need to do so.

We used the textbook along with the workbook. You can use the textbook as a consumable or not. It gives a couple of samples with explanations. I didn't have my dd1 fill in anything in the textbook because I wanted it to use for the other two in the future. I don't know that it was really helpful.

I definitely did not need the instructor's book or any answer key. When I felt my dd needed more explanation or a different approach to a set of problems I couldn't come up with, I Googled it and found more than I ever needed.

Hope that helps.

"We think we're gliding down the highway when in fact we're slip sliding away." Paul Simon
DD-7 & B-G twins, 5
#3 of 15 Old 01-30-2010, 01:51 PM

I personally really like the HIG- there is a lot of extra suggestions.
You can get them used on homeschoolclassifieds.com

To my husband I am wife, to my kids I am mother, but for myself I am just me.
we're : with and : and
#4 of 15 Old 01-30-2010, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter

thank you for your thoughts!
#5 of 15 Old 01-30-2010, 02:55 PM