Reading suggestions? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 25 Old 03-14-2010, 11:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Bear with me, as I don't know how coherent this will be.

DD1 is homeschooling. She'll be 7 in May. She isn't reading yet. I'm honestly pretty much okay with this, although I can't help but be a bit surprised (dh and I were both self-taught readers and were both reading before starting kindergarten). My approach to "teaching" reading has definitely been a bit hit or miss. I'm drawn to unschooling, but I wouldn't call us a true unschooling family (ds1 is in high school, ds2 is in preschool). DH is not of an unschooling mindset at all. He's okay with loose, easy going and child led, but not to the point of trusting that she'll pick it up without a significant amount of teaching.

So, we both thought she'd be reading by now. I'm not concerned, but am kind of picking up on dh's concern. Plus, he tends to push it a bit harder than I'm totally comfortable with (dh is 100% onboard with learning at home, though - just a different mental picture). I do feel that I haven't been as creative and resourceful as I could have been with her "official" education. (Last year's pregnancy and related fatigue, some issues with ds2's behaviour, my physical energy level with a newborn, and my sister's heart condition - 6 bypasses, valve replacement and valve repair - over this past winter have all combined to leave me a little...scattered.)l But, I feel her real interest just lies elsewhere right now. She became interested in letters at a very early age (wrote her alphabet at about 2.5 or so), but then got into other things...bugs, spiders (her favourite), "nature" in general, the human body and how it works, and art. Those are her "things".