Affording Home Schooling - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 04-20-2010, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am a former teacher, who now stays home with my babies. I am seriously considering HS but have to ponder it some more (luckily I have lots of time as my oldest are only 8 months!). One thing that has me worried is the cost of HSing. Mostly the curriculum. How much do you find you spend on it?

And not only programs/curriculum but also all the extracurricular activities to get them out of the house, exposed to new things, and socializing with peers. As in, music, dance, karate, trips to museums, etc etc.

We live in a boring town about 1.5 hours from any museums so trips to museums could get costly. Plus all those extra classes add up. I'm afraid we won't be able to afford HSing, especially as they get older. Any thoughts?
#2 of 13 Old 04-20-2010, 03:13 PM

You can spend as much as you want homeschooling.

You don't have to buy a packaged curriculum, you can put something together yourself with books and the internet.

Libraries have free activities/groups. Not to mention books.

My oldest is in gymanstics in the fall/winter ($150) and soccer in the spring/summer ($34). She'd be in those whether or not we homeschooled. And again you don't have to do "all those extracurricular activities". There are also clubs that you can join that would be cheap/free (hiking, astronomy, etc).

If you join a homeschool group you can get together with other kids for free to socialize.

We also live in a boring town but I have no intention of driving to the next one to get to a museum (for it's 9 hours away!). They can learn about stuff online. Our art gallery has free admission on Wednesdays.

It's still early. Do you have a homeschool style in mind? You can be really cheap and creative if you aren't set on doing school at home.
#3 of 13 Old 04-20-2010, 03:32 PM