Any CA-based high school home schoolers? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-16-2010, 01:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a tutor that's working with a high schooler - his parents want me to home school him for his senior year, and they were very excited about some flexibility in his curriculum. He's very interested in martial arts, for example, and we were going to do a History of Martial Arts course, studying from Ancient Japanese samurai all the way through modern MMA and the historical and cultural implications and significance.

But we've hit a snag in trying to get him enrolled somewhere. The private schools online have pre-prepared curricula, and the public charters they were hoping to do for $ reasons are even worse - because of No Child Left Behind, it's impossible to do anything except standardized online courses with certified teachers, which are just torture for this kid with severe ADD.

What do you guys do? Are your high schoolers enrolled in an online program? Has anyone filed a private school affidavit instead and just established their own private school, and if so, do you have any experience on how that translates to colleges? His parents are NOT crunchy in any way, and as excited as they are to see their unmotivated son starting to care about his courses, they're very hesitant to do anything too outside the mainstream - like a GED, or worries about truancy, or making sure he goes to a traditional 4-year college in 2011. I am a tutor with 12 years experience, but not CA-credentialed, so I am not allowed to teach him under that exemption...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2010, 02:34 AM

I'm sure someone more knowledgeable than me will chime in, but I'm fairly certain the laws only allow for non-credentialed people to teach their OWN children.

Wife to a great DH, SAHM to 3 great kids
Old 06-16-2010, 02:39 AM