Mothering Forums

Mothering Forums (http://www.mothering.com/forum/)
-   Learning at Home and Beyond (http://www.mothering.com/forum/50-learning-home-beyond/)
-   -   money to homeschool from government? (http://www.mothering.com/forum/50-learning-home-beyond/1236045-money-homeschool-government.html)

reignbelle 06-20-2010 10:11 AM

Hi I am in Michigan. I was recently talking to a friend of mine and she said someone told her that they receive money from the government to homeschool. Is this true? Would it be a grant, tax right off, or maybe a special group their in? Ive never heard of this and cannot find any info online. My frined wont be seeing the person anymore so I can not get anymore info form her. Thanks

CherryBomb 06-20-2010 10:28 AM

From what I understand, in Alaska the state helps pay for homeschooling, but other than that, IDK. I've been homeschooling for the last 2 years with no help from the gov't

Smithie 06-20-2010 11:38 AM

In some states, you can enroll in an "umbrella school" and receive a stipend to purchase curriculum materials of your choice from an approved list (and the approved list is sometimes quite extensive). I don't if you're technically homeschooling or technically not (I think it depends on the state), but if you are choosing the curriculum and teaching the child in your home, to me that's homeschooling. Weekly extracurriculars are also offered by some umbrella schools in a centralized "campus" location.

I *heart* umbrella schools. Unfortunately, I don't think Michigan has a state-funded umbrella school program. You might call up these folks and ask if they know anything about how to get state money for homeschooling: http://www.clonlara.org/

2xy 06-20-2010 11:40 AM