Tennessee Homeschoolers HELP - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-25-2010, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Dh and I are dreaming about moving to TN from Michigan. It's just perfect for us and our family except...

I just read the homeschooling laws ?!?!?

Please share with me the reality of homeschooling in TN?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-27-2010, 01:11 PM

I'm new to homeschooling as this will be our first year. I have no other experience, so I'm wondering specifically which policies you are most concerned about? I know nothing different!
Old 06-27-2010, 11:23 PM

There are numerous options for how to register as a homeschooler. To be an "official" homeschooler, you register with the school district and follow all kinds of rules and regulations. Most people register with a "church related school" instead. Not all of these umbrellas are specifically or restrictively Christian; some require a statement of faith, others don't; some require regular testing, others don't. We've been quite happy with HomeLife Academy, which is Christian but doesn't require a statement of faith.

There's lots of info at http://www.tnhomeed.com/HSLaw.html - including links to the DOE site and a "non-lawyer" version of the laws, and lists of the various umbrella schools.

Good luck!
Old 06-29-2010, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarai18 View Post
There are numerous options for how to register as a homeschooler. To be an "official" homeschooler, you register with the school district and follow all kinds of rules and regulations. Most people register with a "church related school" instead. Not all of these umbrellas are specifically or restrictively Christian; some require a statement of faith, others don't; some require regular testing, others don't. We've been quite happy with HomeLife Academy, which is Christian but doesn't require a statement of faith.