Saxon versus Singapore - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-15-2004, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am very new to this...actually I haven't started yet. My son is in Kindergarten right now in PS. I wanted to HS him this year but I have 2 year old twins and was scared of how well I would be able to do it. I AM homeschooling him for 1st grade though and right now am in the midst of choosing curriculums. Right now I'm obsessing on Math and I want some "professionals" opinions. There is actually another curriculum I'm looking into besides Singapore and Saxon but I can't think of the name right off. So please tell me what you use and the adv and disadv of it. By the way, what concerns me about the Singapore is the fact that there isn't much help for the parent in how to present the material...and also the difference in money, measurement, etc.....
Thanks for any help,
Heather
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-15-2004, 11:40 AM

My dd loves Singapore. She's very independant though, and prefers to work on it herself--we don't sit down for lessons. She's had no trouble working through the books on her own. (She's on level 3 now.)

I don't know how long ago you looked into Singapore, but they now have teacher's guides and a US version (with English measurements.) I haven't seen the teacher's guides, but if you go to the website, you can view examples and the table of contents, etc. There is also a message board there if you have questions about a particular problem or the series in general.

Dd started with Singapore before they had the US version--she worked the metric pages, and skipped the money pages. She learned the English measurements and American money just through everyday life.

I like how Singapore will show several ways to attack a problem, and also emphasizes "mental math."