latin anyone? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-02-2010, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
anyone trying latin this year or done latin the the past? we are using oak meadows latin I program (haven't actually started yet) but i would like to make it a family affair and teach some latin to everybody.

tips/tricks? supplies?

transtichel.gifAk Hippie mama  ribbonpb.gifYamia  DSD '03 blahblah.gif  DS '07 ribboncesarean.gif  DS2 '09  hbac.gif & DS3  uc.jpg '12

homeschool.gifwinner.jpgfamilybed2.gifnovaxnocirc.gifcd.gifgd.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-02-2010, 06:08 PM

We're starting Latin this year. I'll be using Song School Latin. My kids are 10, 8, and 2. I wanted something fun and light that we could include the little one in. I have no background in Latin and this looks light, easy, and fun. I will also be using Roots and Fruits Vocabulary for the big kids, which will introduce words with Latin and Greek roots. If the kids enjoy Latin I may use Minimus or Latin for Children next year. I'm leaning towards Minimus at this time.

blogging.jpg

Old 08-02-2010, 06:19 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I have yet to start latin with my kids but I learned it as a child. My dad teaches latin to middle and high schoolers and shared it, and greek, with me. We never used a specific program and I was not homeschooled but after looking at several potential programs for my kids I've found myself liking minimus. If I were to choose a curriculum at this point that would be it.
Old 08-03-2010, 01:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MissRubyandKen View Post