How to homeschool 2 kids with younger siblings - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 08-28-2010, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a homeschooling newbie (and this is my first post on Mothering!)... I did K with my DS year old last year while DD1 attended a pre-k and DD2 napped. It worked perfectly for us! DS and I got the one-on-one time we needed with no distractions.

This year is different... I'm doing 1st grade curriculum with my DS and DD (6 & 5) and DD2 is 2.5 and not napping much. I'm also due to have a baby any day now!

We've done three days of school so far (planned on starting earlier this summer but stuff kept coming up) and they've been a struggle. I know its going to take time to get into a groove. I've tried distracting DD2 with TV or toys or play-dough, but she wants to be right on the table with the other kids. Which doesn't sound so bad in theory, but its super distracting to the older kids and annoying So then I tried working with each older kid individually and having the other one distract DD2. That worked ok, but the kid who was being schooled was easily distracted by what the other two were doing. We don't have a spot to school other than our kitchen table which is open to the whole house so its not easy to minimize distractions.

The best option I can think of is to wait until DD2 takes her afternoon nap and school then. Thing is, I generally use that time as pick-up the house/down time for me and that time is really important to my mental well-being. The older two usually hang in their rooms for an hour or two and everyone gets some chill out time. I think this will be even more important for me after the new baby arrives. But I really can't think of a better way to manage the hours and kids

Any suggestions?
#2 of 5 Old 08-28-2010, 12:41 PM

Having a 2.5 year-old in the house is tough!
My older kids are 9 & 7, the younger ones are 2.5 and 8 months.