Fiction vs. Nonfiction - Confusion - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-30-2010, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm completely embarrassed to be asking this question. I'm a writer by profession for Pete's sake! DS & I started talking about literature today. We read a book called Bored Bella Learns About Fiction and Nonfiction. So, the gist is that Bella's class goes to the library, and they learn about how to tell if a book is fiction or nonfiction...great detail about how sometimes something has facts in it, but the story and characters are made up. That's fiction.

Lovely, except...our library has housed the Bored Bella book in the nonfiction section! I noticed because in the book, the librarian talks about how to use the spine to tell, and I flipped to it saying "see, this is fiction, so...wait a minute. Why is this listed as nonfiction?" I noticed this with a book DD checked out last weekend. It was a dentist ABC book, so the letters all stand for dentist-related items. It was in the nonfiction section. ??? Yet, the jungle ABC book is in fiction.

Am I confused here, or is there a confused children's librarian at our library?

It's us: DH , DS ; DD ; and me . Also there's the . And the 3 . I . Oh, and .
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-30-2010, 05:41 PM

Confused librarian! A made-up story teaching something factual is still fiction. How ironic that particular book was marked incorrectly haha.

poetry-writing feminist, loving my h and my ju-ju-be
"That rug really tied the room together."
Old 08-30-2010, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks! I was really starting to doubt myself here! Should I point it out? (And, yes, I find it hilarious that this book in particular is shelved wrong.)

Old 08-30-2010, 05:54 PM

I'm not sure--they might appreciate it or they might just say "yeah, okay" and throw it back on the shelf. Guess it wouldn't hurt!

Old 08-30-2010, 05:58 PM