Mothering Forum banner

I am no longer a supporter of unschooling :( (BIG vent, dont read if ur going to be offended)

100K views 458 replies 106 participants last post by  Juliete Alves Banke 
#1 ·
I feel I have done my children a disservice by unschooling them.

I have been unschooling my children for 8 years now. I have a 12 yo and an 8yo. This year, for various reasons, we decided the 8yo would start school (3rd grade). She was so VASTLY behind the other kids in every subject it was embaressing, overwhelming for her, a NIGHTMARE for both her and us. It was so bad we had to pull her out. The only part she had no trouble with was socializing lol.

Never will I unschool again! I dont want any flames for this because I have a right to my exerience and opinion.

I am very upset with myself. I feel I have been duped and lied to by the unschooling community honestly.

I still firmly support and believe in homeschooling, but no longer can I support unschooling for my family.

#3 ·
I'm sorry you had such a bad experience with unschooling. I have to say, though, that if you want to ensure that your child will be at "grade level" at all times then unschooling probably wasn't the right choice for you. It sounds like you weren't aware of this, and frankly I'm surprised, because I think it's fairly well known by the unschoolers I know. Especially during the early grades, unschooling may well mean that your child is learning completely different things than schooled kids are learning, and so it's not at all surprising to me that her entry to school was, as you put it, a nightmare. That sounds really, really awful for both of you.