Preschool - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-17-2010, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi Everybody,
I am new to the idea of homeschooling. My daughter is going to be 3 in October and I was thinking about starting to "lightly" homeschool her. I have a few questions that cover a large area. I mostly would like to start homeschooling because it would give us something to do during our long winters.
1.) How do you respond to people who say preschool- in the traditional setting- is great because of the socialization.
2.) How did preschool come about and why is it so important? How does it affect the bonding period at this age? I always thought it was something that working parents did. But now almost all the SAHM I know place their children in it.
3.) What are some good workbooks?
4.) Any other ideas or advice would be great!!!
Thank your all for any input. I have been finding it very hard to talk to people about this. I have a high energy child who is so much fun to be around but doesn't do very well in an indoor setting or being task oriented for a long period of time- nor do I find it necessary at this age. I am shocked how many people have argued that it would be good for her and me! The typical statement is that she would be getting socialization and I would get a break to spend with my 1 year old. I am getting frustrated and my feelings are hurt. I can't imagine how people would respond if I decide to homeschool her in K or beyond!

Lovin my Hubby , Serena (10/07)::, and Cedar( 07/09)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-17-2010, 06:29 PM

1) "This is what works best for us." I feel that my ds benefits more from socializing with people of all ages not just his own.