how,why, etc. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 10-06-2010, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
here we go again. I have some questions. I could also use some good resources, my google search was near useless.

Homeschoolers- do you pay for all your own supplies? I imagine that would get pricey. How does standardized testing work? What,if any, help do you get from your local school district? How do you manage the things you don't know? I'm not very good at math and I know no other languages.

Does anyone cyber charter? I graduated from pa cyber but there are a lot more out there than when I enrolled and so I wonder how good they are.

If schooling from home, do you prefer homeschooling vs. a cyber charter and for what reason? Cyber charter is paid for by the district and there are teachers that know a lot more than me so it appeals to me.

I haven't actually decided what to do about school yet. Every time I see these kids whose parents just suck and then I think my daughter is going to have to go to school with them I just get terrified. I'm not in a bad school district, but it's not the best in town. I can't really afford private school and I don't know if I can even afford homeschooling. I just found out that my school district has full day kindergarten and I was really hoping for half day. I just don't know if I want to put my daughter in that situation, with all those other kids who aren't like the kids she knows... I wonder what she's going to think when the other girls have cinderella shoes. Will they think she's weird because she likes "boy stuff" and has no idea what a disney princess really is? Will the differences cause a rift at home? I guess I'll also post this in the school forum...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 11 Old 10-06-2010, 05:54 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)