How important is a homeschool group if you have support? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 12-09-2010, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am very blessed to have 3 of my best friends homeschooling their kids who are the same ages as mine.  I also know 3 other families with kids the same age as well who we see periodically.  If we have this 'base' of people do you see any reason to find a co-op for the kids to join?  We're early on in the journey-my oldest is only Kindergarten age, so we don't NEED any supplemental classes such as science or math as older kids may.  And we get together at least once a week and are probably going to be starting a gym-type of activity class which is being taught by someone else.  I'm just not sure if a group is necessary at this point.  Thoughts?  

Mama to (5/04), : (8/05), : (6/07) & : (1/10)
since 7/02 :
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 12-09-2010, 06:59 PM

Well, I'm no expert, but I am homeschooling without any support other than this forum. My oldest is 6. I am trying to trust in myself and my boys to figure out how to go about this alone. The reason why we haven't joined a hs group is because I take care of 7 other neighborhood kids for 10 hours every day and they are toddlers / preschool except 2 of them (I have a dayhome). I can't go out in the day because how can I transport 9 kids?! And I can't legally have any more kids in my house even if I am not responsible for them, so I can't open my home to any other hs'ers either.

So I will not say it has been easy. It has been like finding my way in the dark, but I trust that I know my sons and know what is best for them. In a few years I hope to close my dayhome and join a group. I have a friend who lives in the next city (1 hour from us) and they homeschool. She said she wouldn't tell me how fantastic being part of a hs group was if I didn't have the option to join one.