American School of Correspondence - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 03-25-2011, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Is anyone here familiar with this....I am thinking of maybe using this for 11th and 12th grade for my daughter.

Mom of 6 and a new grandma.  Mom to a sweet boy with autism. Jesus is the love and the light of my lifestillheart.gif
homeschool.gif ribbonjigsaw.gifgrouphug.gifreading.gifwhale.giftea6.gif

#2 of 7 Old 03-28-2011, 09:03 PM

I used AS for my senior year of HS.  Honestly, as a parent I would not consider it academically challenging enough.  The curriculum is not engaging or terribly interactive.  It got the job done (meaning I graduated without being a public school which I hated) but I don't feel it furthered my education.  I'd choose something else if you can or supplement heavily.

Becky- Wife to DH, Mama to "Nani" (July '08) "Coco" (July '10) and expecting one very wiggly baby boy in May 2013!

#3 of 7 Old 03-28-2011, 09:24 PM

My 14 yo is doing freshman year with this right now, and he likes it. This is his first experience with structured education. He's liked it, but finds it very easy! He completed almost a year of science in less than a month and he's waiting for tests to come back so he can send the next one. So, I would agree that it probably isn't as challenging as it could be. But, he is enjoying it, and I do think he is learning new things.

~Mama to my boys~ to a teen, a tween & a toddler and surro-mama to twins and their sister

Livin' in the sticks with my chicks chicken3.gif and lovin' it!

2014:  4/52 projects  0/2014 things 0/52 books

#4 of 7 Old 03-31-2011, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks very much for the input!

Mom of 6 and a new grandma.  Mom to a sweet boy with autism. Jesus is the love and the light of my lifestillheart.gif
homeschool.gif ribbonjigsaw.gifgrouphug.gifreading.gifwhale.giftea6.gif

#5 of 7 Old 03-31-2011, 04:59 PM