K Curriculum-what's out there? New to homeschooling - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 04-13-2011, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am beginning to think homeschooling may be a good option for my child. So far, I am not impressed with our public school, and I'm in a so called "good district." I am a certified elementary teacher with experience and I just feel like I know too much about what really goes on in schools. Anyway, I'm new to this forum. I have NO IDEA where to even start. I'm looking for a hands on learning type curriculum-not workbooks and worksheets. I do not want a religious curriculum. I just don't know what is out there. Thanks for any suggestions. Also, what is the price range for a homeschool curriculum?

#2 of 9 Old 04-13-2011, 05:25 PM

You probably want to look into different styles and go from there.  I have 2 books out from the library right now that I feel really give me a grasp on what is out there and general approaches.

Creative Homeschooling by Lisa Rivero

100 Top Picks for Homeschool Cirriculum by Cathy Duffy

I'd say you might be interested in a Charlotte Mason or Classical or "Great Books" approach.  We're considering using Sonlight as our core - it is religious, but there are ton of people who do it without the religious books and there is a secular sonlight Yahoo group, IIRC.

Qualifier: I'm just prepping now for our K year too.

Tjej

#3 of 9 Old 04-13-2011, 05:41 PM

I will be watching this post :)

selectivevax.gifbfolderchild.gifdelayedvax.giffemalesling.GIFhomeschool.gifnocirc.giffamilybed2.gifcd.gifsurf.gif     t.v. free  

Living happily on a little island in the sun
#4 of 9 Old 04-13-2011, 06:49 PM

I am just wrapping up my first year of homeschooling with my 6 year old and just-turned-5 year old. We did 1st grade for my son and a mix of Pre-K & K for my daughter.