Tell me and save me some time... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 07-02-2011, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have been homeschooling our 11 year old son for two years using a public online school(we could no longer afford his Montessori education and the public schools are hideous here!)  and have totally been overwhelmed with the amount of work he has to do. He is stressed out to the max, which leads to me being stressed. I know that this is not a true learning experience for him. He has become obsessed about grades, which makes me cringe! I want to have a relaxed child lead curriculum but I am they type of person who needs some structure. Can anyone tell me of a curriculum that is structured but interest led, and preferably globally oriented? I just don't have any extra time to go searching right now and I trust yall!

The best way to predict your future is to create it.....

#2 of 14 Old 07-02-2011, 10:14 PM

We are on the unschooling spectrum. Our kids are almost 3 and 5.5 so we are still in the mainly play stage. However, to expose them to topics that our society thinks are important I buy books off the www.sonlight.com  booklists. We are not religious so I don't buy most of the religious books, and we don't get the instructor's guides, though you might find that useful (at least for now) since you would like a curriculum. There is also a yahoo group for secular users of sonlight. Google them, if you are interested. The idea behind sonlight, and other living book curriculums, is you can sit a child at a desk with a textbook and tell them to learn, and not much would happen. Or, you can snuggle on the couch with mom and dad (or a little nook by themselves) with quality books and lots of learning will happen. And the books are really great. At the preschool level my kids learned about physics, art, history, literature, etc., and just thought they were having fun reading books with me.