7th Grade (and 4th) possibilities...Monarch, SOS, Sonlight...Pros and cons? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 07-14-2011, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

New to this forum... :)

We have recently decided to homeschool our dc2 who is entering 4th grade. We are undecided as to our 7th grader. So I am trying to research some options.  I really like the Sonlight curriculum for dc2, that is what I am leaning towards.  Middle school seems like a different ballgame though.  I am open to other options as well but wondered if you guys had any thoughts about these. 

Some background on us...

*We'd like something to give a pretty solid world view, however being a religious (Christian) curriculum is fine.

*I am a teacher (leaving my job) and prefer a curriculum that lays out my targets clearly and does not require gobs of individual planning, but will allow me to have creative freedom as well.

*I may be working part time (2 days each week) and dh is not a teacher, so something that I can adjust on those days would be good.

*I would prefer not to piece together parts of various curriculum.

*I may be able to utilize curriculum from their current schools, however not sure I want to.

*Cost is a big factor. I am leaving my ft (though not well paying) job.  We are severely cutting back bills but I am not wanting to try something and have to immediately go back to the drawing board and pay more $.

Can't think of what other information to give. I am enjoying reading through previous threads to see what has worked, get ideas of joys and challenges, and educate myself. I homeschooled for preschool but this seems bigger and scarier!

Thank you for any thoughts, ideas, and information!!!

#2 of 5 Old 07-14-2011, 09:17 PM