Holistic/Waldorf homeschooler check-in - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-24-2011, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Howdy Everyone!

I haven't been around for a while so I wanted to first ask if there are still some other Holistic/Waldorf homeschoolers in the forum?  I'd appreciate y'all checking in and introducing yourselves for the new school year.  We used to have an ongoing Holistic/Waldorf thread here and it would be great if there was enough interest to start that up again.  

I've been homeschooling with Holistic and Waldorf methods for about eleven years now.  My younger son is still homeschooling with me - 6th grade this year. My eldest went on to the public high school last year where he has straight As. We supplement his education at home.  My own life has changed drastically since I was last here.  I work full time and write fiction (my first love).  Still, homeschooling remains a passion of ours and I look forward to at least three more years of it.  

Last year when I was transitioning to working full time, Waldorf had to take a back seat to our family needs and we went through the second half of the school year very traditionally, with a few holistic lessons interspersed between workbooks and reading.  I'm glad that at least a few parts of our rhythm survived.  This year, I'm using the Waldorf rhythm as the foundation of my work/homeschool balance. Very excited.  

Look forward to hearing about what y'all are up to,

Lucie

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-25-2011, 02:50 PM

Hi! We're holistic hs'ers. We're using Enki this year for the first time and after spending most of the summer so far reading and planning through the program, I am very much looking forward to the year with my boys, a 2nd grader and a K'er.